Ronaldo fails to win Ballon d’Or

6th title not forthcoming for Madeiran

Ronaldo fails to win 6th Ballon d'OrTonight Cristiano Ronaldo failed to succeed in what will almost certainly be one of his last attempts to win the Ballon d’Or. This represents the end of an era for two iconic footballers, as since 2008 only Ronaldo or Lionel Messi have won the coveted Ballon d’Or award. Instead for the first time in a decade they have been replaced by a new name; Luca Modric. Ronaldo was second.
The “Golden Ball” is an annual football award presented by France Football. It has been awarded since 1956, although between 2010 and 2015, an agreement was made with FIFA and the award was temporarily merged with the FIFA World Player of the Year, and known as the FIFA Ballon d’Or. However, the partnership ended in 2016 and the award was reversed back to Ballon d’Or, while FIFA also reverted to its own separate annual award (now named The Best FIFA Football Awards).
Prior to tonight’s results being announced bookies were giving the odds below

  • Luka Modric: 1/10
  • Antoine Griezmann: 7/2
  • Raphael Varane: 5/1
  • Kylian Mbappe: 5/1
  • Cristiano Ronaldo: 13/2
  • Lionel Messi: 25/1

Leave a comment

Translate »