Museum reopens with seven new exhibits
FN report that after being closed for six months, the Quinta das Cruzes Museum reopens today and is displaying, for the first time seven new pieces purchased in 2016 and 2017 by the Regional Secretariat of Tourism and Culture. This is in addition to the permanent exhibition.
The Museum was closed for works to strengthen the foundations and structural consolidation of the southern body of the main building dating back to the seventeenth century.
There will be an exhibition centre consisting of drawings and watercolours from the 19th and 20th centuries, with special emphasis on three watercolours attributed to Frank Dillon (London, 1823-1909) and an oil painting on canvas by Eduard Hildebrandt (Danzig, 1817 – Berlin, 1868), entitled ” Lady in a hammock in front of the Fortress of Pico de S. João”, below, dating from 1849-1850, which is regarded as an important iconic depiction of nineteenth century Funchal, and a romantic registry of the passage through the Island of Madeira that the artist performed at the time, according to the SRTC.
Also worth mentioning, according to SRTC is the watercolor ” View of the Bay of Funchal – Santa Luzia” by Ella Du Cane (Tasmania / Australia, 1874 – England, 1943), dated 1909, temporarily assigned to the Quinta das Cruzes Museum, on loan from a private collection.
The Quinta das Cruzes Museum is open from Tuesday to Sunday, from 10:00 a.m. to 12:30 p.m., and in the afternoon, from 2:00 p.m. to 5:30 p.m., with free admission on Sundays. The museum can be found in the São Pedro parish of Funchal here.